Rickie Fowler held off the challenge from three of Europe’s finest (Henrik Stenson, Rory McIlroy and Thomas Pieters) to win the 2016 Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship on just his second appearance at the event. Fowler’s only slip up over the weekend was a double bogey on the par 3, 7th in his final round but an eagle at the next hole quickly rectified that mistake and steered him on his path to victory.


Gary Stal, who entered the week ranked 357th in the world, shot a seven-under 65 in the final round to claim his maiden European Tour victory. It was a flawless final round from the Frenchman who overcame an eight-shot deficit over three-time ADHGC champion, Martin Kaymer, and held off a late charge from Rory McIlroy.


Pablo Larrazábal became the first ever Spanish winner of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship after a brilliant five-under, 67, in his final round saw him finish one shot ahead of Major champions, Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson.


Jamie Donaldson took home the second title of his European Tour career in dramatic fashion. A three-putt bogey from the Welshman on the 72nd hole meant that a birdie from either Justin Rose or Thorbjørn Olesen on the last would force a play-off, however both of their birdie chances just missed to hand Donaldson the title.


Robert Rock held off a star-studded field to win the second title of his European Tour career. Playing alongside 14-time major winner Tiger Woods on the final day, the Englishman held his nerve to shoot a 2-under, 70 for the biggest title in his career. Woods finished in a tie for third alongside Graeme McDowell and Thomas Bjorn, with Rory McIlroy one shot better off in 2nd.


Martin Kaymer defended the title that he had won 12 months earlier in some style. It was an extremely impressive week for the German who eventually won by an incredible eight shots ahead of Rory McIlroy. The victory was Kaymer’s third victory in just four appearances at the Championship – the other finish was a runner-up!


A bogey-free final round, six-under 66 saw Martin Kaymer take home his second Abu Dhabi Golf Championship title. The victory came much tougher for the German than in 2008 when he romped to victory by four strokes. This time out, Kaymer held his nerve brilliantly to birdie the final hole and finish one stroke ahead of Ian Poulter.


Paul Casey became the first player to win the Abu Dhabi Golf Championships on two occasions in 2009. The Englishman survived a late scare to win the title by a single shot over Louis Oosthuizen and the defending champion, Martin Kaymer.


Martin Kaymer stormed his way to his first European Tour title at the 2008 Abu Dhabi Golf Championship, leading from day one and eventually finishing four strokes clear of Henrik Stenson and Lee Westwood in 2nd. Kaymer had won the Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year award in 2007 and this victory cemented his position as one of the future stars of the game.


After narrowly missing out on the European Tour Order of Merit in 2006, Paul Casey started his year with a bang thanks to a hard fought victory at the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship. Casey finished one shot ahead of Spain’s Miguel Angel Jiménez and Swede Peter Hanson thanks to a brilliant final round seven-under, 65. Defending champion, Chris DiMarco finished a further shot back in solo 4th.


The inaugural Abu Dhabi Golf Championship proved to be a thrilling encounter with American, Chris DiMarco eventually coming out on top after a fierce battle over the final two rounds with Henrik Stenson. The Swede had started the final day with a one-shot lead but DiMarco, playing in his first European Tour event (not including Majors and WGCs), shot a final round 67 to finish on 20-under par – one stroke ahead of Stenson – to claim the title.